Introducing brotherscankeyd

Recently I bought a Brother MFC-L2720DW printer/scanner. In the past I was used to buy HP because of the good Linux support. But now I have discovered that Brother offers quite a good Linux support as well.

Installing the printer was a disappointment: everything worked as expected! (Driver source: brother overlay; installation via CUPS and brsaneconfig4)

Then I discovered that brother also offers a small tool “brscan-skey”. This tool allows to use the printer’s scan button to let a remote computer initiate a scan. As this tool is closed source and I wanted to use it on my server I decided to program one on my own.

Et voilĂ , today I present “brotherscankeyd”, a small daemon managing scan key events. The daemon and some example files (configuration, scripts) are available at https://github.com/FrankAbelbeck/brotherscankeyd.

Leave a Reply

